My Claim Packetby VA Disability Max
Ink wash of a checked clipboard, a canteen, a coffee mug, and a pen on a wooden table.

38 CFR Part 4 — 38 CFR § 4.79

No more than light perception in both eyes — VA Diagnostic Code 6062

Eye

Diagnostic code

6062

38 CFR § 4.79, under Impairment of Central Visual Acuity, lists Diagnostic Code 6062 as “No more than light perception in both eyes,” rated 100. Superscript 1 is on that row. Appendix B to Part 4, version date 2026-10-01, still indexes this code as “Blindness, both eyes, only light perception.” The rating-table heading and the index line are not the same words.

Reviewed 2026-10-05. Text checked against the eCFR versioner full-text XML for 2026-10-01 on 2026-10-05. Title 38 was up to date as of 2026-10-01 and last amended on 2026-08-27. The § 4.79 source note prints 73 FR 66550, Nov. 10, 2008, as amended at 83 FR 15321, Apr. 10, 2018. The § 4.75 source note prints 73 FR 66549, Nov. 10, 2008. The § 4.76 source note prints 73 FR 66549, Nov. 10, 2008.

The rating criteria at each level

6062 No more than light perception in both eyes — Impairment of Central Visual Acuity

Rating %: 100

Criteria (verbatim). No more than light perception in both eyes

Superscript 1 on the DC 6062 row reads: Review for entitlement to special monthly compensation under 38 CFR 3.350.

The same footnote marker is on DC 6061, anatomical loss of both eyes, which is also 100. The titles are different. DC 6062 does not print the measured-acuity rows that begin at DC 6063.

38 CFR § 4.75(f) says that when evaluating visual impairment, refer to 38 CFR 3.350 to determine whether the claimant may be entitled to special monthly compensation. Footnotes in the schedule indicate levels of visual impairment that potentially establish entitlement. 38 CFR § 3.350(c)(1)(iv) says the special monthly compensation provided by 38 U.S.C. 1114(m) is payable for “Blindness in both eyes having only light perception.” Section 3.350(b)(2) is a different sentence: 5/200 visual acuity or less bilaterally qualifies for entitlement under 38 U.S.C. 1114(l). Section 3.350(a)(4) is loss of use or blindness of one eye, having only light perception. That one-eye sentence is not the DC 6062 title. This page does not state a payment amount.

38 CFR § 4.76(b)(1) says to evaluate central visual acuity on the basis of corrected distance vision with central fixation, even if a central scotoma is present, and then states the exception when the lens required to correct distance vision in the poorer eye differs by more than three diopters. DC 6062’s own row is the “no more than light perception” line. It is not one cell of the later acuity pairs.

38 CFR § 4.31 says that in every instance where the schedule does not provide a zero percent evaluation for a diagnostic code, a zero percent evaluation shall be assigned when the requirements for a compensable evaluation are not met. DC 6062 prints one percentage, 100. Measured acuities that the table places under another code are not a lower line of DC 6062. 38 CFR § 4.7 assigns the higher rating when the disability picture more nearly approximates the criteria required for that rating. Otherwise, the lower rating will be assigned. 38 CFR § 4.6 requires each element affecting the evidence to be studied so that decisions will be equitable and just.

Source: 38 CFR § 4.79, Diagnostic Code 6062, eCFR full-text XML for 2026-10-01. Appendix B to Part 4, same version date, is the index line quoted above.

What the words mean in your records

Two official titles

The § 4.79 row says “No more than light perception in both eyes.” Appendix B says “Blindness, both eyes, only light perception.” The catalog slug was built from the index words. The percentage on the rating table is 100.

Anatomical loss is DC 6061

DC 6061 is “Anatomical loss of both eyes,” also 100, with the same footnote marker. It is the preceding row. It is not DC 6062.

One eye is a different code

DC 6064 begins “No more than light perception in one eye” and then lists the other eye’s acuity. Those pairs are not printed on DC 6062. The one-eye light-perception definition in § 3.350(a)(4) is also not this row.

Evidence that speaks to each level

The 100 percent row

What the rater needs to see. Findings the schedule places on “no more than light perception in both eyes,” and the examination § 4.76 requires for visual acuity.

Where that usually lives. The eye examination, including corrected distance vision, from a licensed optometrist or ophthalmologist, as § 4.75(b) states.

The footnote

What the rater needs to see. The special-monthly-compensation review the footnote names under 38 CFR 3.350.

Where that usually lives. The same examination, read against the bilateral light-perception sentence in § 3.350(c)(1)(iv).

VA’s public DBQ list, checked October 5, 2026, names “Eye Conditions” under Ophthalmological. The file is Eye Conditions.

The exam form

DC 6062 prints one rating line and a footnote. This page does not say the form replaces that line.

Related codes and how they interact

The grid continues at the next code.

DC 6063 is anatomical loss of one eye, with a separate percentage for each listed acuity in the other eye. DC 6062 stops at both eyes. This page does not copy the rest of the central-visual-acuity grid onto DC 6062.

Secondary conditions and presumptions

The 2026-10-01 text of 38 CFR § 3.309 does not contain “light perception” or “blindness.” The DC 6062 footnote points to § 3.350, not to § 3.309.

Short answers

What is the VA rating for light perception in both eyes?

Diagnostic Code 6062 in 38 CFR § 4.79 is 100 percent for no more than light perception in both eyes. Education only. VA decides on the evidence.

Which special-monthly-compensation sentence names both eyes?

Section 3.350(c)(1)(iv) says 38 U.S.C. 1114(m) is payable for “Blindness in both eyes having only light perception.” Section 3.350(b)(2) is the separate 5/200 sentence for 38 U.S.C. 1114(l). This page does not state a payment amount.

FAQ

What does DC 6062 rate?

Under 38 CFR § 4.79, no more than light perception in both eyes is 100 percent. Superscript 1 says to review for entitlement to special monthly compensation under 38 CFR 3.350. Education only.

Why do some indexes say “blindness, both eyes, only light perception”?

Appendix B to Part 4, version date 2026-10-01, uses those words. The rating table in § 4.79 uses “No more than light perception in both eyes.” The percentage on the rating table is 100.

Is one eye with only light perception DC 6062?

No. DC 6062 says both eyes. DC 6064 begins with no more than light perception in one eye. Section 3.350(a)(4) is the one-eye light-perception sentence.

Next steps

  • Read the decision for DC 6062 or another central-visual-acuity code, and any § 3.350 finding.
  • The free worksheet is a place to write the code, the findings, and the records you already have. It does not file a claim or protect a filing date. An accredited representative is at find a VSO.
  • Other eye codes are on the eye diagnostic-code index.

Education only. Not legal or medical advice. My Claim Packet is not a VA-accredited representative and does not file claims. VA decides every claim on its own evidence.

Other codes in this body system

Nearby catalog entries in Eye, ordered by diagnostic code number. All Eye codes

Also: DC code lookup (tools) lists the same index in a compact layout.

Source: 38 CFR Part 4, Diagnostic Code 6062 • va.gov

⚠️ Important Disclaimer

This page provides general educational information based on public VA regulations and VA.gov resources. It is not legal or medical advice, and My Claim Packet is not a VA-accredited representative. Any worksheets or draft documents produced by the tools must be reviewed for accuracy and are not filed with VA for you. Ratings and service connection are decided case-by-case from the individual record. Consult a VA-accredited VSO, claims agent, attorney, or qualified clinician for help with your situation, and verify current rules using the linked official source.

Get the free Secondary Conditions Checklist by email