My Claim Packetby VA Disability Max
Ink wash of a checked clipboard, a canteen, a coffee mug, and a pen on a wooden table.

38 CFR Part 4 — 38 CFR § 4.71a

Leg, amputation of, at a lower level, permitting prosthesis — VA Diagnostic Code 5165

Musculoskeletal

Diagnostic code

5165

38 CFR § 4.71a lists Diagnostic Code 5165 under “Leg, amputation of:”. The row is “At a lower level, permitting prosthesis.” It does not end with a period. The lower-extremity amputation table has one Rating column, not Major and Minor columns. The number is 40. Footnote 2 is on that 40. Appendix B indexes “At a lower level, permitting prosthesis.” and does end with a period. Appendix B’s heading is “Leg amputation of:” without the comma that the rating table prints in “Leg, amputation of:”.

Reviewed 2026-10-05. Text checked against the eCFR versioner full-text XML for 2026-10-01 on 2026-10-05. Title 38 was up to date as of 2026-10-01 and last amended on 2026-08-27. The § 4.71a source note prints 29 FR 6718, May 22, 1964, as amended at 34 FR 5062, Mar. 11, 1969; 40 FR 42536, Sept. 15, 1975; 41 FR 11294, Mar. 18, 1976; 43 FR 45350, Oct. 2, 1978; 51 FR 6411, Feb. 24, 1986; 61 FR 20439, May 7, 1996; 67 FR 48785, July 26, 2002; 67 FR 54349, Aug. 22, 2002; 68 FR 51456, Aug. 27, 2003; 69 FR 32450, June 10, 2004; 80 FR 42041, July 16, 2015; 85 FR 76460, Nov. 30, 2020, 85 FR 85523, Dec. 29, 2020, 86 FR 8142, Feb. 4, 2021. The § 4.69 source note prints 62 FR 30239, June 3, 1997. The 2026-10-01 XML for § 4.68 prints no source note. The § 4.63 source note prints 29 FR 6718, May 22, 1964, as amended at 43 FR 45349, Oct. 2, 1978.

The rating criteria at each level

5165 At a lower level, permitting prosthesis — one Rating column

Rating %: 40

Criteria (verbatim). At a lower level, permitting prosthesis

The heading is “Leg, amputation of:”. The colon is in the schedule. The rating cell on that heading is empty.

DC 5163, defective stump with thigh amputation recommended, is 60. DC 5164, amputation not improvable by prosthesis controlled by natural knee action, is 60. DC 5166 and DC 5167 are 40, the same number as DC 5165.

Footnote 2 reads: Also entitled to special monthly compensation. The word “Also” is in this footnote. Upper-extremity footnote 1 does not say “Also.” Footnote 2 does not name § 3.350 and does not name an SMC level.

Section 4.68 names this code in its example. The example says the combined evaluations for disabilities below the knee shall not exceed the 40 percent evaluation, diagnostic code 5165.

38 CFR § 4.68 says the combined rating for disabilities of an extremity shall not exceed the rating for the amputation at the elective level, were amputation to be performed. For example, the combined evaluations for disabilities below the knee shall not exceed the 40 percent evaluation, diagnostic code 5165. This 40 percent rating may be further combined with evaluation for disabilities above the knee but not to exceed the above the knee amputation elective level. Painful neuroma of a stump after amputation shall be assigned the evaluation for the elective site of reamputation.

DC 5164 is the row above, at 60, also with footnote 2. Its schedule text is “Amputation not improvable by prosthesis controlled by natural knee action.” Appendix B shortens that row to “Not improvable by prosthesis controlled by natural knee action.” It does not shorten DC 5165. DC 5166 is forefoot amputation proximal to the metatarsal bones, more than one-half of metatarsal loss, at 40. DC 5167 is loss of use of the foot, at 40. Both carry footnote 2.

38 CFR § 4.63 says loss of use of a hand or a foot, for the purpose of special monthly compensation, will be held to exist when no effective function remains other than that which would be equally well served by an amputation stump at the site of election below elbow or knee with use of a suitable prosthetic appliance. Section 4.63 does not name DC 5165. The DC 5165 row is an amputation level, not the loss-of-use sentence.

38 CFR § 3.350(a) says special monthly compensation under 38 U.S.C. 1114(k) is payable for each anatomical loss or loss of use of one hand, one foot, and the other losses that sentence lists. Section 3.350(b) names both feet, and one hand and one foot, under 38 U.S.C. 1114(l). The DC 5165 footnote does not cite either paragraph. This page does not state a payment amount. 38 CFR § 4.7 assigns the higher rating when the disability picture more nearly approximates the criteria required for that rating. Otherwise, the lower rating will be assigned. 38 CFR § 4.6 requires each element affecting the evidence to be studied so that decisions will be equitable and just.

The code prints no 0 percent line. 38 CFR § 4.31 says that in every instance where the schedule does not provide a zero percent evaluation for a diagnostic code, a zero percent evaluation shall be assigned when the requirements for a compensable evaluation are not met. The 2026-10-01 text of 38 CFR § 3.309 does not contain “prosthesis.” A separate question, when a presumption does not decide it, is a medical question on the facts under 38 CFR § 3.310. Paragraph (a) covers disability proximately due to or the result of a service-connected disease or injury. Paragraph (b) covers increase in severity and requires a medical baseline.

Source: 38 CFR § 4.71a and 38 CFR § 4.68, Diagnostic Code 5165, eCFR full-text XML for 2026-10-01.

What the words mean in your records

One column, and the number is 40

The lower-extremity amputation table does not print Major and Minor. DC 5165 is 40. The two rows above it are 60.

Footnote 2 says “Also”

The words are “Also entitled to special monthly compensation.” Upper-extremity footnote 1 omits “Also.”

The amputation-rule example

Section 4.68 uses “the 40 percent evaluation, diagnostic code 5165” as the below-the-knee example. It then says this 40 percent rating may be further combined with evaluation for disabilities above the knee but not to exceed the above the knee amputation elective level.

Evidence that speaks to each level

40

What the rater needs to see. Leg amputation at a lower level, permitting prosthesis. That is the DC 5165 row.

Where that usually lives. The amputation record, including the level and whether a prosthesis is permitted.

Footnote 2

What the rater needs to see. The footnote says also entitled to special monthly compensation. It does not name a level.

Where that usually lives. The same decision. This page does not state a payment amount.

VA’s public DBQ list, checked October 5, 2026, names “Amputations” under Musculoskeletal. The file is Amputations.

The exam form

DC 5165 prints 40, with footnote 2. Section 4.68 names that 40 percent evaluation in its example. This page does not say the form replaces either sentence.

Related codes and how they interact

The row above is 60.

DC 5164 is amputation not improvable by a prosthesis controlled by natural knee action. It is 60. DC 5165 is the lower level that permits a prosthesis, at 40. Loss of use of the foot, DC 5167, is also 40.

Secondary conditions and presumptions

The 2026-10-01 text of 38 CFR § 3.309 does not contain “prosthesis.” DC 5165 is a rating-schedule line.

A separate question, when a presumption does not decide it, is a medical question on the facts under 38 CFR § 3.310. Paragraph (a) covers disability proximately due to or the result of a service-connected disease or injury. Paragraph (b) covers increase in severity and requires a medical baseline.

Short answers

How does VA rate a leg amputation at a lower level, permitting prosthesis?

Under 38 CFR § 4.71a, Diagnostic Code 5165 is 40 percent. Footnote 2 says also entitled to special monthly compensation. Education only. VA decides on the evidence.

What is the difference between DC 5164 and DC 5165?

DC 5164 is amputation not improvable by prosthesis controlled by natural knee action, at 60. DC 5165 is at a lower level, permitting prosthesis, at 40. Both carry footnote 2.

FAQ

What rating does DC 5165 print?

40, in the single Rating column of the lower-extremity amputation table. Footnote 2 says “Also entitled to special monthly compensation.” Education only. This page does not state a payment amount.

Why does the amputation rule mention this code?

Section 4.68 says the combined evaluations for disabilities below the knee shall not exceed the 40 percent evaluation, diagnostic code 5165. That sentence names this code. It also says this 40 percent rating may be further combined with evaluation for disabilities above the knee but not to exceed the above the knee amputation elective level.

Is there a major and a minor column?

Not on this table. Major and Minor are the upper-extremity amputation columns. DC 5165 has one Rating column.

Next steps

Education only. Not legal or medical advice. My Claim Packet is not a VA-accredited representative and does not file claims. VA decides every claim on its own evidence.

Other codes in this body system

Nearby catalog entries in Musculoskeletal, ordered by diagnostic code number. All Musculoskeletal codes

Also: DC code lookup (tools) lists the same index in a compact layout.

Source: 38 CFR Part 4, Diagnostic Code 5165 • va.gov

⚠️ Important Disclaimer

This page provides general educational information based on public VA regulations and VA.gov resources. It is not legal or medical advice, and My Claim Packet is not a VA-accredited representative. Any worksheets or draft documents produced by the tools must be reviewed for accuracy and are not filed with VA for you. Ratings and service connection are decided case-by-case from the individual record. Consult a VA-accredited VSO, claims agent, attorney, or qualified clinician for help with your situation, and verify current rules using the linked official source.

Get the free Secondary Conditions Checklist by email