38 CFR Part 4 — 38 CFR § 4.71a
Forearm, amputation of, below insertion of pronator teres — VA Diagnostic Code 5124
Musculoskeletal
Diagnostic code
5124
38 CFR § 4.71a lists Diagnostic Code 5124 in the table captioned “Amputations: Upper Extremity,” under the heading “Forearm, amputation of:”. The row is “Below insertion of pronator teres.” That row does not end with a period. The Major column is 70. The Minor column is 60. Footnote 1 is on both numbers. Appendix B to Part 4 indexes “Below insertion of pronator teres.” and does end with a period.
Reviewed 2026-10-05. Text checked against the eCFR versioner full-text XML for 2026-10-01 on 2026-10-05. Title 38 was up to date as of 2026-10-01 and last amended on 2026-08-27. The § 4.71a source note prints 29 FR 6718, May 22, 1964, as amended at 34 FR 5062, Mar. 11, 1969; 40 FR 42536, Sept. 15, 1975; 41 FR 11294, Mar. 18, 1976; 43 FR 45350, Oct. 2, 1978; 51 FR 6411, Feb. 24, 1986; 61 FR 20439, May 7, 1996; 67 FR 48785, July 26, 2002; 67 FR 54349, Aug. 22, 2002; 68 FR 51456, Aug. 27, 2003; 69 FR 32450, June 10, 2004; 80 FR 42041, July 16, 2015; 85 FR 76460, Nov. 30, 2020, 85 FR 85523, Dec. 29, 2020, 86 FR 8142, Feb. 4, 2021. The § 4.69 source note prints 62 FR 30239, June 3, 1997. The § 4.63 source note prints 29 FR 6718, May 22, 1964, as amended at 43 FR 45349, Oct. 2, 1978. The § 4.71 source note prints 29 FR 6718, May 22, 1964, as amended at 43 FR 45349, Oct. 2, 1978; 67 FR 48785, July 26, 2002. The § 4.26 source note prints 29 FR 6718, May 22, 1964, as amended at 88 FR 22917, Apr. 14, 2023.
The rating criteria at each level
5124 Below insertion of pronator teres — Major and Minor columns
Rating %: 70 major, 60 minor
Criteria (verbatim). Below insertion of pronator teres
| Rating % | Criteria (verbatim) |
|---|---|
| 70 major, 60 minor | Below insertion of pronator teres |
The heading above DC 5123 and DC 5124 is “Forearm, amputation of:”. The colon is in the schedule. The rating cells on that heading are empty.
The table is headed Amputations: Upper Extremity, with columns Rating, Major, and Minor. Footnote 1 on both the 70 and the 60 reads: Entitled to special monthly compensation.
That footnote does not say “Also,” does not name § 3.350, and does not name an SMC level. A different footnote in § 4.71a says “Also entitled to special monthly compensation.” That is not the footnote on this row.
38 CFR § 4.69 says handedness for the purpose of a dominant rating will be determined by the evidence of record, or by testing on VA examination. Only one hand shall be considered dominant. The injured hand, or the most severely injured hand, of an ambidextrous individual will be considered the dominant hand for rating purposes. Section 4.69 does not use the words “Major” and “Minor.” Those are the column headings.
DC 5123 is the row above this one: “Above insertion of pronator teres,” 80 major and 70 minor, with the same footnote 1. DC 5125 is the next row, “Hand, loss of use of,” 70 major and 60 minor, the same two numbers as DC 5124. DC 5126 is amputation of five digits of one hand, also 70 major and 60 minor. The titles are different.
38 CFR § 4.68 says the combined rating for disabilities of an extremity shall not exceed the rating for the amputation at the elective level, were amputation to be performed. The example is the 40 percent evaluation, diagnostic code 5165. The example does not name DC 5124. 38 CFR § 4.63 defines loss of use of a hand or a foot for special monthly compensation as no effective function remaining other than that which would be equally well served by an amputation stump at the site of election below elbow or knee with use of a suitable prosthetic appliance. Section 4.63 does not name the pronator teres and does not name DC 5124.
38 CFR § 3.350(a) says special monthly compensation under 38 U.S.C. 1114(k) is payable for each anatomical loss or loss of use of one hand, one foot, and the other losses that sentence lists. The DC 5124 footnote does not cite § 3.350. This page does not state a payment amount. 38 CFR § 4.7 assigns the higher rating when the disability picture more nearly approximates the criteria required for that rating. Otherwise, the lower rating will be assigned. 38 CFR § 4.6 requires each element affecting the evidence to be studied so that decisions will be equitable and just.
The code prints no 0 percent line. 38 CFR § 4.31 says that in every instance where the schedule does not provide a zero percent evaluation for a diagnostic code, a zero percent evaluation shall be assigned when the requirements for a compensable evaluation are not met. 38 CFR § 4.14 says the evaluation of the same disability under various diagnoses is to be avoided. The same section says the evaluation of the same manifestation under different diagnoses are to be avoided.
Source: 38 CFR § 4.71a, Diagnostic Code 5124, eCFR full-text XML for 2026-10-01.
What the words mean in your records
Major 70 and minor 60
Those are the two numbers on the DC 5124 row. The same pair is on loss of use of the hand and on amputation of five digits of one hand. The DC 5124 row is “Below insertion of pronator teres,” under the heading “Forearm, amputation of:”.
The footnote does not say “Also”
Footnote 1 of the upper-extremity amputation table reads “Entitled to special monthly compensation.” The lower-extremity table’s footnote 2 uses the word “Also.” That is a different footnote.
Appendix B adds a period
The rating row does not end with a period. Appendix B indexes “Below insertion of pronator teres.” with a period.
Evidence that speaks to each level
70 major, 60 minor
What the rater needs to see. Forearm amputation below insertion of the pronator teres, which is the DC 5124 row, in the major or minor column.
Where that usually lives. The amputation record. Section 4.69 is how dominance is determined.
Footnote 1
What the rater needs to see. The footnote says entitled to special monthly compensation. It does not name a level.
Where that usually lives. The same decision. Section 3.350(a) names anatomical loss of one hand. This page does not state a payment amount.
VA’s public DBQ list, checked October 5, 2026, names “Amputations” under Musculoskeletal. The file is Amputations.
The exam form
DC 5124 prints 70 major and 60 minor, with footnote 1. This page does not say the amputations form replaces that row.
Related codes and how they interact
Above the pronator teres is a different row.
DC 5123 is forearm amputation above insertion of the pronator teres: 80 major and 70 minor. DC 5125 is loss of use of the hand: 70 major and 60 minor. DC 5126 is five digits of one hand: 70 major and 60 minor. Each of those rows that prints 70 and 60 uses the same style of footnote 1.
Secondary conditions and presumptions
The 2026-10-01 text of 38 CFR § 3.309 does not contain “pronator.” DC 5124 is a rating-schedule line.
A separate question, when a presumption does not decide it, is a medical question on the facts under 38 CFR § 3.310. Paragraph (a) covers disability proximately due to or the result of a service-connected disease or injury. Paragraph (b) covers increase in severity and requires a medical baseline.
Short answers
How does VA rate forearm amputation below insertion of the pronator teres?
Under 38 CFR § 4.71a, Diagnostic Code 5124 is 70 for the major side and 60 for the minor side. Education only. VA decides on the evidence.
What does the amputation rule say about this code?
Section 4.68 says the combined rating for disabilities of an extremity shall not exceed the rating for the amputation at the elective level, were amputation to be performed. Its example is diagnostic code 5165. The example does not name DC 5124.
FAQ
What are the ratings for forearm amputation below insertion of the pronator teres?
70 in the Major column and 60 in the Minor column. Footnote 1 says “Entitled to special monthly compensation.” It does not say “Also.” Education only. This page does not state a payment amount.
Is loss of use of the hand the same title?
No. Loss of use of the hand is DC 5125. It prints the same 70 and 60. The DC 5124 row is “Below insertion of pronator teres,” under “Forearm, amputation of:”.
How does the schedule decide major and minor?
Section 4.69 determines the dominant hand from the evidence of record or by testing on VA examination. Only one hand shall be considered dominant. The columns themselves are labeled Major and Minor.
Next steps
- Read the decision for DC 5124 and whether it used the major column or the minor column.
- The free worksheet is a place to write the code, the findings, and the records you already have. It does not file a claim or protect a filing date. An accredited representative is at find a VSO.
- Other musculoskeletal codes are on the musculoskeletal diagnostic-code index. The category page is musculoskeletal conditions.
Education only. Not legal or medical advice. My Claim Packet is not a VA-accredited representative and does not file claims. VA decides every claim on its own evidence.
Other codes in this body system
Nearby catalog entries in Musculoskeletal, ordered by diagnostic code number. All Musculoskeletal codes
- DC 5108Anatomical loss of one hand and one foot
- DC 5109Loss of use of both hands
- DC 5110Loss of use of both feet
- DC 5111Loss of use of one hand and one foot
- DC 5120Complete amputation, upper extremity
- DC 5121Arm amputation, above insertion of deltoid
- DC 5122Arm amputation, below insertion of deltoid
- DC 5123Forearm amputation, above insertion of pronator teres
- DC 5125Hand, loss of use of
- DC 5126Five digits of one hand, amputation
- DC 5127Four digits of one hand, amputation of the thumb, index, long and ring
- DC 5128Four digits of one hand, amputation of the thumb, index, long and little
- DC 5129Four digits of one hand, amputation of the thumb, index, ring and little
- DC 5130Four digits of one hand, amputation of the thumb, long, ring and little
- DC 5131Four digits of one hand, amputation of the index, long, ring and little
- DC 5132Three digits of one hand, amputation of the thumb, index and long
Also: DC code lookup (tools) lists the same index in a compact layout.
Source: 38 CFR Part 4, Diagnostic Code 5124 • va.gov
⚠️ Important Disclaimer
This page provides general educational information based on public VA regulations and VA.gov resources. It is not legal or medical advice, and My Claim Packet is not a VA-accredited representative. Any worksheets or draft documents produced by the tools must be reviewed for accuracy and are not filed with VA for you. Ratings and service connection are decided case-by-case from the individual record. Consult a VA-accredited VSO, claims agent, attorney, or qualified clinician for help with your situation, and verify current rules using the linked official source.

