
The short answer
No. A standard VA-backed home loan is a loan from a private lender that VA guarantees. A Native American Direct Loan (NADL) is a VA direct loan: VA is the mortgage lender. On VA's NADL page (updated March 19, 2026), NADL may help a Veteran buy, build, or improve a home on federal trust land when either the Veteran or the Veteran's spouse is Native American, the tribal government has a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) with VA, the borrower has a valid Certificate of Eligibility (COE), and the credit, income, and occupancy rules on that page are met. A COE alone does not make every house an NADL purchase, and it does not finish underwriting on a VA-backed purchase either. Educational only; not mortgage advice; not accredited representation; no guaranteed outcome; independent of VA.
The mix-up
Native American Veterans often hear one label — “VA home loan” — and treat it as a single product. VA's pages do not write it that way.
- “NADL is just the normal VA loan on the reservation.” VA's loan-types page (updated March 19, 2025) separates a VA direct home loan from VA-backed home loans. With a direct loan, VA serves as the mortgage lender. NADL is that direct program, and the NADL page limits it to a home on federal trust land when the tribal government has an MOU with VA and the other requirements on that page are met.
- “Any COE unlocks NADL anywhere.” A valid VA home loan COE is required. It is one item on a list the NADL page says must all be true. The MOU, federal trust land, credit, income, and occupancy rules are on that list too.
- Every “VA home loan” is treated as a private-lender purchase. A standard VA-backed purchase is a private-lender loan with a VA guaranty. NADL is the path where you work directly with VA.
This page compares those two paths. It does not assign you to one, and it does not rewrite the funding-fee, refinance, or accredited-representative notes linked below.
What a standard VA-backed home loan is
From VA's loan-types page (updated March 19, 2025): with a VA-backed home loan, VA guarantees (stands behind) a portion of the loan you get from a private lender. If the loan goes into foreclosure, the guaranty allows the lender to recover some or all of their losses. That page says nearly 90% of all VA-backed home loans are made without a down payment. VA's home loans overview (updated December 17, 2024) uses the same “nearly 90%” sentence for VA-backed loans made with no down payment.
Lenders follow VA standards. They may also require additional standards before giving you a loan. The loan-types page says those standards may include having a high enough credit score or getting an updated home appraisal. VA defines a private lender there as a private bank, mortgage company, or credit union.
The same loan-types page says VA home loan programs include a VA direct loan and 3 VA-backed loans, and that you can use these programs to buy a home or refinance a home loan only within the U.S. and its territories, including Puerto Rico and the Northern Mariana Islands. The overview page says VA direct and VA-backed Veterans home loans can help Veterans, service members, and their survivors buy, build, improve, or refinance a home. You still need the required credit and income for the loan amount.
Purchase-loan eligibility
On VA's purchase-loan page (updated January 7, 2026), all of these must be true:
- You qualify for a VA-backed home loan Certificate of Eligibility (COE), and
- You meet VA's — and your lender's — standards for credit, income, and any other requirements, and
- You will live in the home you're buying with the loan
VA's eligibility page (updated September 22, 2026) says that to get financing for a VA-backed home loan, you must meet credit, income, and occupancy requirements from both VA and your lender. Service-history minimums for a COE are on that page. This note does not copy that table.
What that page says a purchase loan often offers
As the purchase-loan page writes it, a VA-backed purchase loan often offers:
- No down payment as long as the sales price isn't higher than the home's appraised value
- Better terms and interest rates than other loans from private banks, mortgage companies, or credit unions
- The ability to borrow up to the Fannie Mae/Freddie Mac conforming loan limit on a no-down-payment loan in most areas — and more in some high-cost counties. You can borrow more than this amount if you want to make a down payment. Dollar limits are not copied here. Learn about VA home loan entitlement and limits (updated August 12, 2025).
- No need for private mortgage insurance (PMI) or mortgage insurance premiums (MIP)
- Fewer closing costs, which may be paid by the seller
- No penalty fee if you pay the loan off early
Uses that page lists
If you qualify, that page says you can use the loan to:
- Buy a single-family home, up to 4 units
- Buy a condo in a VA-approved project
- Buy a home and improve it
- Buy a manufactured home or lot
- Build a new home
- Make changes or add new features (like solar power) to make your home more energy efficient
The same page also says you can:
- Get a VA-backed home loan to buy your first home
- Use your VA loan benefit again if you sell or refinance a home you bought with a VA-backed home loan
- Assume a VA-backed home loan (the buyer takes over the seller's loan instead of opening a new mortgage)
This note does not add property types beyond that list. Interest-rate reduction refinance (IRRRL) and cash-out refinance are separate VA-backed products. That comparison is /blog/va-irrrl-vs-cash-out-refinance.
Certificate of Eligibility and entitlement
A COE shows your lender that you qualify based on your service history and duty status, as the eligibility page writes it. Request one online, or use VA Form 26-1880 (Request for a Certificate of Eligibility). The form page was updated May 27, 2026. The form revision date on that page is December 2025. That page says you can submit the request online instead of the paper form, and that you bring the COE to your lender to prove you qualify for a VA home loan.
The eligibility page says you may be able to restore entitlement you used in the past to buy another home with a VA Native American Direct Loan or a VA-backed loan if you meet at least 1 of these requirements and you continue to meet the eligibility requirements on that page:
- You've sold the home you bought with the prior loan and have paid that loan in full, or
- A qualified Veteran-transferee agrees to assume your loan and substitute their entitlement for the same amount of entitlement you used originally, or
- You've repaid your prior loan in full, but haven't sold the home you bought with that loan (you can only do this once)
You can request a COE with an entitlement restoration online, ask your lender to submit an online application, or fill out VA Form 26-1880 and send it to the VA address listed on the form. If you don't meet at least 1 of those restoration requirements, the eligibility page says you may still have remaining entitlement to buy or refinance another home with a VA Native American Direct Loan or a VA-backed loan. Questions about eligibility go to VA Loan Guaranty Service. The phone number is on the eligibility page. This note does not copy it.
Fees
The purchase-loan page says you may need to pay the VA funding fee. The lender also charges interest and closing fees. This note does not state a percentage. Read VA's funding fee and closing costs page (updated September 22, 2026) and /blog/va-home-loan-funding-fee-100-percent-disability.
What NADL is
From VA's NADL page (updated March 19, 2026): if you're a Veteran, and either you or your spouse is Native American, the Native American Direct Loan program may help you get a loan to buy, build, or improve a home on federal trust land. You may also get a loan to refinance an existing NADL and reduce your interest rate.
On the loan-types page, a VA direct home loan means VA serves as your mortgage lender. You work directly with VA to apply for and manage the loan. That page says the NADL program often has better terms than a home loan from a private lender. It also points Native American Veterans, and Veterans married to a Native American, to NADL to buy, build, or improve a home on federal trust land.
Eligibility on that page
You may be eligible if you're a Native American Veteran or a non–Native American Veteran married to a Native American, and you meet all of these requirements. All of these must be true:
- Your tribal government has an agreement — or Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) — with VA detailing how the program will work on its trust lands, and
- You have a valid VA home loan Certificate of Eligibility (COE), and
- You meet VA's credit standards, and
- You have proof that you make enough money to cover the mortgage payments and other costs of owning a home, and
- You'll live in the home on federal trust land that you're using the NADL to buy, build, or improve
This note does not list tribes, and it does not say which tribal governments have an MOU. Ask an NADL coordinator or the tribal government whether that trust land has one. The NADL page says tribal government representatives with MOU questions can use the same email and phone below.
Benefits that page lists
The NADL page lists these benefits. This note does not add to the list:
- No down payment required in most cases
- No need for private mortgage insurance (PMI), which that page says is commonly charged to conventional loan borrowers
- Limited closing costs (fees you pay for services and other costs related to getting a loan and buying a home)
- A low-interest, 30-year fixed mortgage. VA writes that a fixed mortgage means the interest rate stays the same over the full life of the loan. The March 19, 2026 page says, “The current VA interest rate for NADLs starts at 2.5%.” To find out what your interest rate will be, that page says to contact an NADL coordinator. Confirm the live page before you treat 2.5% as your rate. This note does not publish any other rate.
- A reusable benefit, which means you can get more than 1 NADL to buy, build, or improve another residence in the future
- The ability to refinance a current NADL for a lower interest rate
- The ability to borrow up to the Fannie Mae/Freddie Mac conforming loan limit on a no-down-payment loan in most areas — and more in some high-cost counties. You can borrow more than this amount if you want to make a down payment. No dollar figure is copied here. Learn about VA home loan entitlement and limits.
How VA says to start
Contact an NADL coordinator by email at NADL@va.gov or by phone at 888-349-7541 (TTY: 711). VA's page says that line is open Monday through Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. ET. The same contact is where the page sends you to learn what your interest rate will be.
You still need a valid COE. Service-history rules for that certificate are on the eligibility page. Request the COE online or with VA Form 26-1880. Restoration of entitlement used on an earlier NADL or VA-backed loan is the three-path list in the section above, as the eligibility page writes it. If none of those paths is met, that page says remaining entitlement may still exist.
Fees
The NADL page says you may need to pay the VA funding fee. It describes that fee as a one-time fee that helps lower the cost of the loan for U.S. taxpayers, since the VA home loan program doesn't require down payments or monthly mortgage insurance. The page also says your lender will charge interest on the loan in addition to closing fees. On a direct loan, VA is the lender. This note does not state a funding-fee percentage. Use VA's funding fee and closing costs page and /blog/va-home-loan-funding-fee-100-percent-disability.
Refinancing an existing NADL, as that page describes it, is not the IRRRL-versus-cash-out comparison. That note is /blog/va-irrrl-vs-cash-out-refinance.
Side-by-side
Use the live pages for your own facts. This checklist does not pick a loan.
- Who lends. NADL: VA is the mortgage lender, and you work directly with VA. Standard VA-backed: a private lender makes the loan, and VA guarantees a portion of it.
- Where the home can be. NADL: a home on federal trust land, and the tribal government has an MOU with VA for how the program works on its trust lands. VA-backed purchase: the uses on the purchase-loan page (single-family up to 4 units, a condo in a VA-approved project, buy and improve, a manufactured home or lot, build, and energy features such as solar). Both program families, on the loan-types page, are for buying or refinancing only within the U.S. and its territories, including Puerto Rico and the Northern Mariana Islands.
- Who qualifies. NADL: a Native American Veteran, or a non–Native American Veteran married to a Native American, plus every item in the NADL eligibility list. VA-backed purchase: a COE, VA's and the lender's credit, income, and other standards, and occupancy. Service-history minimums for the COE are on the eligibility page for either path.
- COE role. Both paths require a valid COE. The COE shows qualification based on service history and duty status. It does not replace the NADL MOU, trust-land, credit, income, and occupancy rules, and it does not replace the lender's standards on a VA-backed purchase.
- MOU. Required on the NADL page: the tribal government's agreement with VA. The purchase-loan page's eligibility list does not include a tribal MOU. This note does not list tribes that have one.
- Occupancy. NADL: you will live in the home on federal trust land that you are using the NADL to buy, build, or improve. VA-backed purchase: you will live in the home you are buying with the loan.
- How to start. NADL: NADL@va.gov or 888-349-7541 (TTY: 711), Monday through Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. ET, and a COE (online or VA Form 26-1880). VA-backed purchase: a private lender, plus a COE by the same request paths.
- Down payment and mortgage insurance. NADL: no down payment required in most cases, and no PMI. VA-backed purchase: no down payment as long as the sales price isn't higher than the appraised value, and no PMI or MIP. The loan-types and overview pages say nearly 90% of VA-backed loans are made with no down payment.
- Rate. The NADL page updated March 19, 2026, says the current VA interest rate for NADLs starts at 2.5%, on a 30-year fixed mortgage, and tells you to ask a coordinator what your rate will be. This note does not copy a rate from the purchase-loan page. Confirm the live NADL page before you rely on 2.5%.
- Loan amount. Both the NADL page and the purchase-loan page describe borrowing up to the Fannie Mae/Freddie Mac conforming loan limit on a no-down-payment loan in most areas, more in some high-cost counties, and more if you make a down payment. Amounts stay on VA's entitlement and limits page.
- Funding fee. Both pages say you may need to pay the VA funding fee, and that the lender charges interest and closing fees. Percentages are not in this note.
Questions before you assume which path
This list does not recommend a loan. It is what to read on the live pages, and who to ask, before you treat the two products as the same.
Ask these before you assume which path (educational)
- Is the home on federal trust land, and does that tribal government have an MOU with VA for how the program works on its trust lands? This note does not list tribes. Ask an NADL coordinator or the tribal government.
- Are you a Native American Veteran, or a non–Native American Veteran married to a Native American, as the NADL page frames eligibility? The other NADL requirements still have to be true.
- If the home is not on that trust-land NADL path, are you looking at a private-lender VA-backed purchase instead? Start from the purchase-loan page and the loan-types page.
- NADL contact on the March 19, 2026 page: NADL@va.gov or 888-349-7541 (TTY: 711), Monday through Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. ET. Ask there what the current starting rate is before you rely on the 2.5% sentence.
- Do you have a valid COE, and if you used entitlement before, does one of the restoration paths on the eligibility page apply? Remaining entitlement may still exist if a restoration path is not met.
- For a personal record, or for a disability claim that is separate from a home loan, get help from an accredited representative: https://www.va.gov/get-help-from-accredited-representative/ (updated September 23, 2026). How to appoint one is /blog/va-accredited-representative. This page does not represent you before VA.
Related posts
These notes already exist. This page links them. It does not rewrite them.
- VA home loan funding fee and the disability-related discussion of that fee: /blog/va-home-loan-funding-fee-100-percent-disability
- VA IRRRL versus cash-out refinance: /blog/va-irrrl-vs-cash-out-refinance
- How to appoint an accredited representative: /blog/va-accredited-representative
What this note is not
- Not a statement that NADL is the same product as a standard VA-backed home loan on trust land. NADL is VA as the lender. A standard VA-backed loan is a private lender plus a VA guaranty.
- Not a statement that a COE funds any house the same way a VA-guaranteed private-lender loan does. NADL also needs a tribal MOU, a home on federal trust land, and the credit, income, and occupancy rules on the NADL page.
- Not a list of tribes with an MOU. Ask NADL coordinators or the tribal government.
- Not a conforming-loan-limit dollar amount, a high-cost-county amount, or a funding-fee percentage. Those stay on VA's entitlement and limits page and VA's funding fee page, and in /blog/va-home-loan-funding-fee-100-percent-disability.
- Not a promise that 2.5% is your rate. That sentence is what the NADL page said on March 19, 2026: the current VA interest rate for NADLs starts at 2.5%. Confirm the live page or a coordinator.
- Not mortgage advice, rate shopping, or a promise of approval, a closing, or any other outcome.
- Not a rewrite of the funding-fee note, the IRRRL-versus-cash-out note, or the accredited-representative note.
- Not accredited representation. Educational only; independent of VA; no guaranteed outcome.
Sources
- VA.gov — Native American Direct Loan (updated March 19, 2026)
- VA.gov — VA-backed Veterans home loans (updated December 17, 2024)
- VA.gov — VA home loan types (updated March 19, 2025)
- VA.gov — Purchase loan (updated January 7, 2026)
- VA.gov — VA home loan eligibility (updated September 22, 2026)
- VA.gov — VA home loan entitlement and limits (updated August 12, 2025; dollar amounts are not copied here)
- VA.gov — Funding fee and closing costs (updated September 22, 2026; percentages are not copied here)
- VA Form 26-1880 — Request for a Certificate of Eligibility (form revision December 2025; page updated May 27, 2026)
- VA — Get help from an accredited representative (updated September 23, 2026)
Quick answers
Is NADL the same as a standard VA-backed home loan?
No. On VA’s loan-types page (updated March 19, 2025), a VA direct home loan means VA serves as the mortgage lender and you work directly with VA. The Native American Direct Loan (NADL) is that direct program. A VA-backed home loan means VA guarantees a portion of a loan from a private lender. NADL is for a home on federal trust land when the tribal government has a Memorandum of Understanding with VA and the other rules on the NADL page (updated March 19, 2026) are met. This note is educational only and is not mortgage advice.
Who can use NADL?
VA’s NADL page (updated March 19, 2026) says you may be eligible if you are a Native American Veteran or a non–Native American Veteran married to a Native American, and all of these are true: your tribal government has a Memorandum of Understanding with VA detailing how the program will work on its trust lands; you have a valid VA home loan Certificate of Eligibility; you meet VA’s credit standards; you have proof of enough income to cover the mortgage payments and other costs of owning a home; and you will live in the home on federal trust land that you are using the NADL to buy, build, or improve. This note does not decide eligibility.
Does a COE alone get me an NADL anywhere?
No. A valid VA home loan Certificate of Eligibility is one NADL requirement on the March 19, 2026 page. The same page also requires a tribal Memorandum of Understanding, federal trust land, VA credit standards, proof of enough income for the mortgage and other homeownership costs, and that you will live in that home. A COE does not, by itself, fund every house the way a VA-guaranteed private-lender loan does.
What is a tribal MOU for NADL?
VA’s NADL page describes it as an agreement—or Memorandum of Understanding—between your tribal government and VA detailing how the program will work on its trust lands. This note does not list tribes and does not say which trust lands have an MOU. Contact an NADL coordinator at NADL@va.gov or 888-349-7541 (TTY: 711), Monday through Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. ET, or contact the tribal government. The same page says tribal government representatives with MOU questions can use that email or phone too.
Do I still need a COE for a regular VA-backed purchase loan?
Yes. VA’s purchase-loan page (updated January 7, 2026) says all of these must be true: you qualify for a VA-backed home loan Certificate of Eligibility; you meet VA’s and the lender’s standards for credit, income, and any other requirements; and you will live in the home you are buying. The eligibility page (updated September 22, 2026) says that to get financing for a VA-backed home loan, you must meet credit, income, and occupancy requirements from both VA and your lender. The lender is a private lender. VA guarantees a portion of that loan.
Is there a funding fee on NADL or a VA-backed purchase loan?
VA’s NADL page and VA’s purchase-loan page both say you may need to pay the VA funding fee. Each page also says the lender charges interest and closing fees. This note does not state a funding-fee percentage. Read https://www.va.gov/housing-assistance/home-loans/funding-fee-and-closing-costs/ (updated September 22, 2026) and the separate note at https://myclaimpacket.com/blog/va-home-loan-funding-fee-100-percent-disability.
Can I refinance with NADL?
VA’s NADL page (updated March 19, 2026) says you may get a loan to refinance an existing NADL and reduce your interest rate. That page also lists the ability to refinance a current NADL for a lower interest rate. That is the sentence on the NADL page. It is a different comparison from IRRRL versus cash-out refinance, which is covered at https://myclaimpacket.com/blog/va-irrrl-vs-cash-out-refinance. This note does not rewrite that post.
How do I start NADL?
VA’s NADL page says to contact an NADL coordinator at NADL@va.gov or 888-349-7541 (TTY: 711), Monday through Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. ET. You also need a valid Certificate of Eligibility. VA’s eligibility page (updated September 22, 2026) and VA Form 26-1880 (Request for a Certificate of Eligibility; form revision December 2025; form page updated May 27, 2026) are the COE paths, including an online request instead of the paper form. Service-history minimums are on the eligibility page. This note does not copy that table.
Choose your free next step
Look up another condition, or get the printable Secondary Conditions Checklist by email.
Look up another conditionWant to save this and export a packet later? That's the $9.99/mo founding pass.
Educational only. Not mortgage advice. Not a VSO, attorney, or claims agent. Not affiliated with VA. No guaranteed rate, approval, loan limit, or other outcome. Confirm the live VA.gov Native American Direct Loan page (updated March 19, 2026), home loans overview (updated December 17, 2024), loan-types page (updated March 19, 2025), purchase-loan page (updated January 7, 2026), eligibility page (updated September 22, 2026), entitlement and limits page (updated August 12, 2025), funding fee and closing costs page (updated September 22, 2026), and VA Form 26-1880 page (updated May 27, 2026; form revision December 2025) before you act. This article quotes the March 19, 2026 NADL sentence that the current VA interest rate for NADLs starts at 2.5% and does not treat that figure as a personal rate. It does not invent conforming-loan-limit dollars, funding-fee percentages, or a list of tribes with a Memorandum of Understanding. NADL is a VA direct loan on federal trust land when a tribal MOU and the other NADL rules are met. A standard VA-backed loan is a private-lender loan with a VA guaranty. A Certificate of Eligibility alone is not enough for either path’s full underwriting.